Sightseeing > Museums > Marmottan - Claude Monet

Musée Marmottan - Claude Monet
2, rue Louis-Boilly, 16th
Muette, RER Boulainvilliers
Tel 01 44 96 50 33

www.marmottan.com

In a former private mansion just off the charming Jardins du Ranelagh, this museum houses the largest collection of Monet’s paintings in France (more than at Giverny or the Orangerie), including the famous "Impression of a Sunset" and the Water Lily series. There are also other impressionists’ works, a large collection of illuminated manuscripts dating back to the 16th century, and furnishings and objects from the First Empire on the ground floor. 

Opening Hours: Daily except Monday from 10am-6pm (last admission 5:30pm). Closed January 1, May 1 and December 25.

Tickets: Entry to the Museum is €8 , reduced rate of €4.50 for students under 25.

Free Entrance: Kids under 8.

Info and Services: A book and gift shop is available.

Heather's Notes: It's a nice little museum that you can see in its entirety in just an hour. Fans of Napoleon I and Monet will get the most out of it, but the house and gardens are worth a visit if you're in the area. It's worth getting the museum guide book in English to get the most out of your visit. The Ranelagh Gardens outside have an old-fashioned, hand-cranked merry-go-round, miniature pony rides, and a large playground.

Please help keep this site up to date! Report outdated information and errors.